Printrbot Releases Info On The Go V2

Printrbot has finally revealed information on the new Go V2’s. They will be coming in 3 different sizes ranging from small to huge. As we speculated a few months ago, it will have larger rods, more motors and aluminum bearing blocks. The huge size as well as the others offers print space that is actually usable. Most manufacturers brag about z axis height but, once you get to a specific size its nothing that a person would actually use. I have a fairly large print space on my heavily modded Plus V2/V2.2 hybrid. The majority of the space I use is in the x and y axis as I often print lots of smaller objects at one time versus printing one really large item.
image

Stepping up the size is only part of the game as the majority comes down to the quality of parts and how they are assembled. Printrbot has always used quality parts and a good portion of those parts are done in house so that they can make sure those parts meet their standards. Working extensively with the only other Go V1 owner in the US. I understand why the Go V1 was taken off the market. The concept was great but the design wasn’t quite there yet. Brook took the time to go through the design to create a well thought out and quite impressive lineup of Go V2’s.

He definitely went above and beyond when he added the new Go will offer up dual as well as triple DDE setups. No doubt that the new Go will attract more attention from the serious user. Less tinkering and more serious rapid prototyping is expected out of the Go platform. We decided to add any information we could find on the new design so that you can enjoy all that is the new GO
image

Brook Drumm Posted This About The New GO
The limited edition Printrbot Go family. Go small, medium or Large for $1299, $1499 or $1699. The Large is 24″x12″x12″ and will have triple extruders, the medium is 16″x8″x8″ and will have double extruders. All have a Raspberry Pi on board and are battery ready. All will have 12mm bars all around, lots of machined aluminum & glass print beds. The medium and large have dual x, y & z motors.

Why make these? I wanted a large printer that travels well and sets up to print fast… Maybe a few of you out there want one too. The small fits into a carry on Pelican case perfectly. I’ve been jealous of other large printers but wanted width instead of height. The cool thing is they all fold up for minimal impact on your desk or storage. I don’t like huge boxed printers that have massive visual impact and near the two-man-lift territory.
image

I don’t take these too seriously, the big ones verge on ridiculous but I give myself permission to explore fun projects. Did I mention the medium one is completely finished and prints beautifully?!

I can’t wait to print some massive prints and see what’s possible with three extruders. Adding dual extruders to the plus is nice, but this huge real estate on the medium and large offers no compromise in print size from dual and triple heads. I refuse to use Bowden tubes so direct drives will so it.

I’ll get them up for sale tomorrow (fingers crossed) with a 1-2 week lead time -based on current orders on the cue.

Let me know what you think. These are ancillary to our main line up, so very little risk if they don’t sell.

The Large isn’t meant to compete with MakerBot’s Z18, but I am proud of now having the largest printer out there with a price that cleanly puts it in the value category. The price to print size ratio is pretty good I think. It won’t disappoint me if people compare the ratio to the Z18, but these are on the hacker category not the “prosumer” or “industrial” category… Whatever those mean.

I’ll post pics and videos next week of prints, performance and all the features.

Cheers,
Brook

Posted from RepRap Squad HQ

About Envious Mods

Custom PC case mods and fabrication is a lifestyle for me. I love being able to come up with an idea and then make it a reality. If you need help with your own case mods or ideas I'm always available. Happy Modding!

Posted on March 9, 2014, in RepRap News and Usefull Info and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment