Inspiration: A Journey to Nowhere

image

Once a year I take a journey to an almost literal nowhere to find inspiration and clearity. Some of my best design ideas have come from this trip. At RepRap Squad we have been working hard on many different projects, one of them being a new printer design that will be 100% made from scratch. We have been working on a design and now seems like a good time to start building.

We decided to step away from the traditional RepRap style printer for something more polished that still has the maker within satisfied at every turn. We plan on doing a full documentation of the build so that others may check in on the progress. Eventually all design notes and plans will be released as this will be an open source project. Part of you always thinks, “with all the innovative ideas we are implementing, why should we give that away?” The reason we will is because we believe in the design and we want it to be revised over and over again by you, the maker.

The design we are working towards finalizing is a large format core xy setup. There are a lot of challenges involved in a large format printer. Luckily we’ve overcome the majority of issues. There is always those issues that creep up during the build but, nothing a little ingenuity and help from the community can’t solve.

Coming from a world of tech everything, its hard to put down the cell phone and pack only the basics. This is what I plan on doing. I have yet to decide wether I will even bring my laptop or tablet. I think I should just incase the ideas I have need to be played out on a virtual platform. One project I plan on doing before leaving will be a solar charger to keep my basic necessities alive. Pen and paper will be my main tool. I will be leaving September 27th and plan on returning sometime around the 8th of October.

Posted from RepRap Squad HQ

About RepRap Squad

I have been involved with 3D printing for years and I wouldn't have it any other way. I also started a foundation called, "Printing a Future Foundation." The sole purpose of this foundation is to get as many 3D printers as we can into schools via donations. Being an Industry trends adviser within the additive manufacturing community allows me to be immersed in the things I enjoy most.

Posted on September 21, 2013, in RepRap News and Usefull Info. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

