Dual Extruder Beta Members

(Currently a Work in Progress)

* I also have a build log under the posting, ” Dual extruder beta, now here! ”

If you need help with your dual extruder beta, you have reached the right place. Due to all the confusion about cables, firmware and assembly.  I have decided to create this page to use as a platform to get you up and printing as quickly as I can. I will be adding pictures and diagrams to help you reference what is what. I have got my dual extruder beta up and tested but, I still need to order some belts as well as pullys before I can do a full print test. I have run across some issues along the way as we all do especially when it comes to doing a beta. I also have another poet referencing the dual extruder beta that documents my journey into this beta program.

Pics and Wiring Diagrams:
Here’s what I’ve put together so far:
image

Early issues:

We have noticed a few issues including faults thrown by the U.I. because there is no thermister plugged into the 3rd extruder plug on the small daughter board. This can be fixed by using a 100k resister for a dummy load. The best way to overcome this issue is to plug in an extra thermister into the thermister plug for the non existent 3rd extruder.  If you are using 3 hotends you will not run into this issue. I would assume that Printrbot would fix this via firmware but, it has not been confirmed as of now. Also remember that thermisters dont have a specific polarity which means it doesn’t matter which way you plug it in.

Here’s Some Pics of My Dual Extruder Build:

image

Here you can see the blue task lights I chose to add in order to see my prints better

image

I also decided to add heatsinks to both extruder motors

image

Here's the plexi cable management channels that keep all my wiring organized

image

Here is a better view of the dual extruders as well as the 3 task lights

image

Also known as the, "drinking straw trick." I extended my PTFE tubing down into my extruder to eliminate any chance of binding

image

A picture is worth a thousand words, so here's a few thousand for ya

Posted from RepRap Squad HQ

About RepRap Squad

I have been involved with 3D printing for years and I wouldn't have it any other way. I also started a foundation called, "Printing a Future Foundation." The sole purpose of this foundation is to get as many 3D printers as we can into schools via donations. Being an Industry trends adviser within the additive manufacturing community allows me to be immersed in the things I enjoy most.

Posted on September 5, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

