Printrbot Plus V2 Designs

I have recently been made aware by Brook Drumm the owner and creator of Printrbot that he will be releasing the V2 pb files for non-commercial use soon. This is awesome and it definitely saves me some time. Keep up the good work Brook.

Once I get my Printrbot Plus V2, which should be here today. I will due the long task of scanning each piece into my tablet so I can take measurements for replacing pieces in the future. Since no one yet has done this, I will be putting the designs up on my site. That way if you want to make your own V2 parts or replace broken pieces, you can. It will take some time to scan each piece in the LC set and even more time to measure every piece in my CAD program. They more then likely will be finalized in DXF and PDF format. I also will more then likely dedicate a page to it for easy reference. On that page I will also post mods done to the V2. I’ve found that quite a few people either own or would like to own the V2 version as it comes with most of the upgrades required for great printing results using the Printrbot.

I will also be posting information on the transformation from PB original to PB plus V2. So far the only major changes besides the laser cut parts are some 12mm rods and bearings. Part of the information will be dedicated to the best rod choice for lm8uu and lme12uu bearings as they are used for this upgrade. I can tell just by looking at the pictures as well as visiting the forums that the new version of the printrbot is well thought out. You can buy the laser cut parts needed for the upgrade for $75.00. This deal is only available till the end of May 2013, after that it seems that the PB store will be taking this package off line. This is even more of reason for me to scan each part and put them online.  I will be updating as soon as I get parts in and start with the long process of the scan as well as the upgrade.

Below: This is a few pictures showing the 1st upgrade I will be doing. The reason for this upgrade is due to the birch eventually warping from constant heating and cooling cycles. More then likely I will be replacing the birch used on the bed with dibond or acrylic as well.

Below: Here is a picture of the extruder I am building for the new V2 version.

About RepRap Squad

I have been involved with 3D printing for years and I wouldn't have it any other way. I also started a foundation called, "Printing a Future Foundation." The sole purpose of this foundation is to get as many 3D printers as we can into schools via donations. Being an Industry trends adviser within the additive manufacturing community allows me to be immersed in the things I enjoy most.

Posted on May 11, 2013, in RepRap News and Usefull Info and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

    • I’m not sure if they are. I’ve heard chatter that some of them are off. So we will see. Also that’s the link to the LC not the Plus. My tablet has crashed so it will be a bit until I can find out. I’m a bit of a perfectionist. I’m also going to transfer them to several formats as well as labeled measurements on the designs for people who want to print on paper to scale and cut out.

  1. Dude, I will release the files for non commercial soon. I have actual 3d models this time!
    Beook

    • Awesome, I wasn’t sure if you were going to release the v2 design. Thanks Brook

    • Brook, I also wanted to take the time to thank you and the PB team for sending me missing parts from my order so fast. You guys were helpful and a pleasure to work with. We work off of donations so we can go around to schools and teach kids about 3D printers and try to get their classrooms set up with their own printrbot original. The parts were sent so fast we didnt miss a class during our transformation to the pb+. Unfortunately our 2nd hand printrboard died recently but once we save for a new one we will be back up and running thanks to your great team. I cant thank you enouph and the kids wanted me to thank you as well.

Leave a Reply

